House Penalizes Lawmakers over Misconduct -Salaries, Allowances, Gasoline suspended

User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
Hits: 2247

The House of Representatives has suspended three of its members for their unruly behavior in an official working session in January.

Those suspended are Representatives Roland Opee Cooper of Margibi County, Samuel Kogar of Nimba County and Henry Fahnbulleh of Montserrado County.

The Houses’ Committee on Rules, Other and Administration,  headed by Grand Bassa County representative, Byron Brown,  in its report recommended to the plenary the suspension of the lawmakers with their salaries, gasoline coupons and other incentives  forfeited. 

Accordingly, Representative Cooper was suspended for the period of three months or 24 meeting days and would forfeit his salary and allowance for each of the months and proceeds paid into government coffers.

Although the decision was reached in the absence of the Margibi County Lawmaker, but he was mandated by that body to write an apology to his colleague, Rep Corneh and the people of electoral district #6 of Bong County.  

The committee mandated that Reps Fahnbulleh and Kogar be suspended for the period of eight meeting days or one calendar month and that their salaries also be placed in the coffers of the Liberian government. It added that lawmaker duo for to write through the office of the Clerk of the House of Representatives and apologize to the people of Liberia for their misconduct during regular session.

However, Reps Edwin Snowe, Emmanuel Nuquay and Bill Twehway, seen to be the mastermind of the confusion that emerged from words to blow, were not suspended. They were rather told to apologize to that august body for sparking up the problem.  

They had demanded the recusal of Speaker Alex Tyler from the deliberation in session on ground that he and his deputy, Hans Barchue, were indicted by the Liberia Anti-Corruption Commission (LACC) for in the US$1.2 million scandal involving the National Oil Company (NOCAL).