CRC Extends Consultations To Leeward Counties

User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
Hits: 2072

MONROVIA, March 20 (LINA) - Having operated in Montserrado county since the launch of its civic education early this month, the Constitution Review Committee (CRC) has extended its activities to other parts of Liberia.

Disclosing this to the Liberia News Agency Thursday, the CRC Co-Chair on Community Outreach and Consultations, Mr. Soko Sackor, said this will afford the Committee the opportunity to solicit and hear the views of all Liberians on the Constitution.

He said the CRC has divided the remaining 14 counties into three zones: North/Central covering Bong, Nimba, and Lofa Counties; Southeastern Region covering Maryland, Sinoe, Grand Kru, Grand Bassa, Grand Gedeh, Rivercess and River Gee counties and  the third zone comprising Gbarpolu, Bomi and Cape Mount counties.

Sackor said the North-Central region team is headed by him and assisted by Mrs. Amelia Ward; the Southeastern team is headed by Counselor Gloria Scott assisted by Rev. Kennedy Sandy, while the third group is headed by Rev. Jasper S. Ndaborlor and assisted by D. Elwood

The ongoing CRC consultations are intended to expand citizens' understanding of the Constitution, as well as provide the environment for the submission of proposals that will lead to constitutional amendments.

Meanwhile, Sackor has encouraged Liberians throughout the country to get involved in the consultations and give it enthusiasm and commitment.